Runningrealtor's Blog

Push On (according to the NY Times) | October 19, 2010

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/10/19/health/nutrition/19best.html?WT.mc_id=HL-SM-E-FB-SM-LIN-TSO-101910-NYT-NA&WT.mc_ev=click 

This is a great article about how elite runners  run through pain with intense focus on winning.   It also advises to train on or at least run a course before racing it, which I personally think is a great idea if you are able.

I have always wondered whether running a full 26.2 miles during training prior to the actual marathon race might help my finishing time.  I am by no means an elite runner but do have a goal of qualifying for The Boston Marathon.  All the training I have done decreases miles prior to the race.   If my body is able I am going to train with a 26.2 miler a few weeks prior to the race and see if it has any bearing on my time or performance.  I am sure that philosophy carries over to all forms of athletics.  I did an hour of yoga before my run today, which just happened to be hills, and I stopped a couple of times when my legs got heavy thinking I had worked them out pretty good before the run so walking was okay.   Hmmmmm………….

I should have pushed on.


Leave a Comment »

Leave a comment